Saturday, May 9, 2015

Published: "Ricordi d'Italia" for brass quintet

Ricordi d'Italia (Memories of Italy), my new composition for brass quintet, is now published by Premiere Press. You can view excerpts of its world premiere on YouTube here.

New logo by Emilie Pallos Graphic Design

The four movements of Ricordi d'Italia are based on experiences I enjoyed in Italy during the summer of 2014. The first movement (Staffolo Fanfare) is a flashy opening that honors the small hilltop town where I spent one of the best weeks of my life. The second movement (The Ancient Wall) ponders the mysteries of the many Roman walls that surround towns like Staffolo. The third movement (Bella Valentina) is a joyous waltz with optional sing-along, sort of a valentine from me to the lovely women of Italy. The fourth movement (Canzon San Marco) honors the music of the great Venetian composer, Giovanni Gabrieli, and Basilica San Marco, where his timeless antiphonal music was played. The overall duration is about 11'30".

Elsewhere in this blog I have written about my 2014 Italian adventure, how Ricordi d'Italia came to be composed, and of its world premiere.

Dr. Ray

No comments:

Post a Comment